BBKA Forum

British Beekeepers Association Official Forum 

• Time for a super or brood box?

• Beginners forum, ask beekeeping related questions and get help from other experienced beekeepers. Please use the Search Feature please to avoid duplicated threads
Beginners forum, ask beekeeping related questions and get help from other experienced beekeepers. Please use the Search Feature please to avoid duplicated threads
 #208  by YETI
 07 Aug 2018, 10:38
Hi All,
I am in my second year of beekeeping. The colony that I had last year didn't make it due to various reasons but I think it wasn't a strong colony going into winter as I got them late in the season. :cry: This year I started early in the season and have survived a swarm! A new queen was raised and fingers crossed all is looking good. :)

I have a National hive and have 2 frames undrawn, 2 full of honey/stores and the rest with brood in at all stages.
My question is should I put on a super or brood box? I am worried that the Queen will run out of space to lay but I am equally worried that they won;t have enough stores going into winter.

Any advice would be most welcome! Thank you!
 #213  by Patrick
 08 Aug 2018, 00:19
Hi Yeti

Welcome to the Forum! Well done on your honesty on admitting losing your first colony - its quite common ( it happened to me as well ) and there can be many reasons why it can happen. The important thing is you got back in the game and have got yourself sorted. The first swarm attempt is always a bit of a gulp moment isn't it?