BBKA Forum

British Beekeepers Association Official Forum 

• Newbie From County Durham

• Beginners forum, ask beekeeping related questions and get help from other experienced beekeepers. Please use the Search Feature please to avoid duplicated threads
Beginners forum, ask beekeeping related questions and get help from other experienced beekeepers. Please use the Search Feature please to avoid duplicated threads
 #2972  by Japey Edge
 09 May 2019, 08:16
Hello everyone,

I'm a newbie who has still yet to get his first bees. My current situation:

- I bought and read through Ted Hooper's Guide to Bees & Honey
- I have watched loads of YouTube videos (Dirt Rooster, Barnyard Bees, UoG etc.)
- I purchased an Abelo National Poly Hive - one standard deep box and two shallows.
- I now own most of the basic items - hive tool, smoker, QE, straps, frames & foundation (standard deep and shallows), Jacket & veil, a bot of blue nitrile gloves.
- I also have a small ply nuc box set up as a bait box - with some frames with foundation and lemongrass oil in it.

I will likely be setting my poly hive out as a bait box too. I want my first bees and if I get a swarm I'll be pretty happy.

I've probably missed a few things out but that pretty much sums up my situation.

So, hello to everyone here on BBKA forum, I look forward to some interesting threads. If there is anyone in the North East please say a quick hello - it would be nice to gauge how much interest there is in my area.

Jazz
 #2974  by Chrisbarlow
 09 May 2019, 08:19
Good luck with your new hobby.

I would suggest getting to know a local beekeeper and try and help em if you can, there's no replacement for practical hands on. Maybe even visit you local association and have a chat to some if those folks.
 #2975  by Japey Edge
 09 May 2019, 08:41
Hi Chris, thanks for the reply :D