BBKA Forum

British Beekeepers Association Official Forum 

• Trying to get into bee keeping

• Beginners forum, ask beekeeping related questions and get help from other experienced beekeepers. Please use the Search Feature please to avoid duplicated threads
Beginners forum, ask beekeeping related questions and get help from other experienced beekeepers. Please use the Search Feature please to avoid duplicated threads
 #1578  by Treemansi
 22 Dec 2018, 20:48
Hi everyone,

I am new to this but am very very keen to get into bee keeping and any advice direction would be much,y appreciated. I am a tree surgeon by trade and love the outdoors and am amazed by how much bees do to our planet and would love to have my own hives and help in there conservation. I love just outside Leicester and would be really pleased if anyone local to me could offer any advice or may be some mentoring in order for me to get into bee keeping the right way and learn as much as possible.
Thank you Simon
 #1579  by Chrisbarlow
 22 Dec 2018, 22:15
beekeeping is fantastic, you`ll love it.
how best to get in, good question.

my suggestion would be try and find a local beekeeper who would mentor you (as your query implies) you could attend some of you local association meetings to identify one, failing that, contact one of your local beekeeping associations to see what courses they run and attend one (and then try and hook up with a local beekeeper you meet there to mentor you post course.)

these folks might be able to help. https://lrbka.org/
 #1581  by Patrick
 23 Dec 2018, 09:26
Sound advice from Chris, if you check out the BBKA website there is a link called “beekeeping near you” which will help you find your local association.

It is really worth finding a beginners course (usually half a dozen or so evening meetings and then doing some summer practical hands on visits with live bees. Beekeepers are a friendly bunch and will be happy to help you with advice.