BBKA Forum

British Beekeepers Association Official Forum 

• Start Out

• Beginners forum, ask beekeeping related questions and get help from other experienced beekeepers. Please use the Search Feature please to avoid duplicated threads
Beginners forum, ask beekeeping related questions and get help from other experienced beekeepers. Please use the Search Feature please to avoid duplicated threads
 #10464  by Chris86
 04 Apr 2021, 10:27
Hi All,

Complete newbie here, so please bear with me. I’ve always been fascinated with bees and have always taken an interest. I’m based in North Yorkshire and make ice cream. I am looking to start out with honey bees in order to be able to use some of my own honey alongside my ice cream.
I also grow pumpkins, which I would like to site the hives next to, in order to help with the pollination of these if possible.

I guess what I’m asking is, what is the day to day keeping of them like. Is it very time keeping over summer or not too bad? Summer is when I am more hectic, so don’t want to take on something that I can’t do properly! Look forward to hearing and input back. Thanks
 #10465  by NigelP
 04 Apr 2021, 17:31
On average you need to inspect your colonies at least once a week during the main season.So the time will depend on the number of colonies kept and how you end up deciding how to inspect.
I reckon on about 5-10 minutes/per colony unless there is work to do like swarm control or sorting out honey removal etc. Plus the temper of the bees can make it quicker or slower if you are being constantly attacked by them.
P.S Honey ice creams need much lower freezing temps as the honey acts an antifreeze....
PPS Welcome to the forum
 #10468  by Alfred
 05 Apr 2021, 06:59
Its like having more kids
Contrary,demanding ,always needing more kit.
Only with these, you dont want them to leave home. :roll:
 #10470  by Patrick
 05 Apr 2021, 11:11