BBKA Forum

British Beekeepers Association Official Forum 

• Wintering

• Beginners forum, ask beekeeping related questions and get help from other experienced beekeepers. Please use the Search Feature please to avoid duplicated threads
Beginners forum, ask beekeeping related questions and get help from other experienced beekeepers. Please use the Search Feature please to avoid duplicated threads
 #408  by belinda
 25 Aug 2018, 12:15
Hi
This is my first year of keeping bees. Do I winter my bees with just the brood box or with the brood box and super?
 #415  by AdamD
 26 Aug 2018, 10:10
Hi Belinda,
I am afraid that you are going to get one of those "depends" answers.
Firstly I assume that you have treated for varroa and any supers with honey you want are off the hive?
If the colony is relatively small - i.e. a late season colony that's not much bigger than a large nuc, ( how many frames of brood do you have?) it may well be OK in a single box. However I prefer to have more food than that by having a super of food under the brood box.

See this:- http://www.norfolkbee.co.uk/beekeepers- ... reparation
 #420  by belinda
 26 Aug 2018, 18:09
Hi

We got a nuc in late May but they do appear to be thriving. There is lots of honey in the brood box and probably at this stage now about 4 frames of brood but we had masses more brood in the summer.

Thanks

Belinda
 #421  by Patrick
 26 Aug 2018, 21:42
Hi Belinda

Based on it being your only colony and your first year, uncertainties over things like hefting, none of us knowing what the Autumn winter and spring might bring, etc I might be tempted to err on the safe side and give them more rather than less and then you have the experience of what was used to reference to next year and adapt accordingly.

Hopefully the nuc was supplied with a young queen so she should be raring to go.
 #437  by DianeBees
 29 Aug 2018, 11:41
The important thing is no queen excluder!
 #1132  by Cable_Fairy
 19 Oct 2018, 17:10