BBKA Forum

British Beekeepers Association Official Forum 

• Using some sort of mains supply for a vapouriser

• Bee Hive building & a place to share howto's on equipment
Bee Hive building & a place to share howto's on equipment
 #8803  by beebench
 09 Sep 2020, 17:05
Hi, rather than buy a 12v battery and then a charger for my vapouriser I would like to be able to run it off the mains instead (I have mains in my apiary). Can I just buy a car battery charger or is there something else that would fit the bill?
 #8804  by Chrisbarlow
 09 Sep 2020, 19:18
I would suggest if you don't know, then maybe an electrician would be the first port of call as electricity kills. sorry for being negative in the first instance.

I am not a qualified electrician btw. I believe a trickle charger would suffice.

A friend has just purchased one of these to run a 12v system from the mains for another purpose.

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/12V-24V-AC-DC-Adapter-Charger-Power-Supply-Driver-Transformer-for-LED-strip-240v/323888308611?hash=item4b693f6183:g:v0YAAOSw~BRcCMmJ
 #8811  by AndrewLD
 10 Sep 2020, 09:27
I believe a vapouriser has an output of around 140 - 150 watts, which equates to 12 amps at 12 volts. A trickle charger is no good for this at all.
Some standard battery chargers would not have that output but you could use a Halfords workshop charger (£75) which has a 20 amp output (do not rely on chargers with 80Amp starter settings - they are not designed for continuous output).
But then there is the question of using such a charger in the apiary - the charger is not designed for outdoor use in a potentially wet or damp environment. It wouId have to be kept dry. I would not risk it.
 #8814  by AndrewLD
 10 Sep 2020, 11:33
NigelP wrote:
10 Sep 2020, 10:28
You need an AC to 12 volt D C converter, something akin to this would do the job, puts out 120w
https://tinyurl.com/y4oxm8k2