BBKA Forum

British Beekeepers Association Official Forum 

• F0,F1,F2 generations

• General Q&A, Bee chat and only Bee chat please
General Q&A, Bee chat and only Bee chat please
 #7682  by Liam
 09 Jun 2020, 16:29
Correct me if I’m wrong. I’m new to bee keeping and would like to understand more about breeding queens and re-queening. I have had my bees since March.
From my understanding:

100% F0 buckfast queen (these can only be 100% from isolation stations or island mating. (Not sure genetics are still 100% buckfast but using this as base)

If you breed a queen from f0 you have now have an F1 queen who is also 100% buckfast but:

She gets open mated in your area with mongrel local bees. Her daughters will be 50% buckfast and 50% mongrel. This cross generally still has good potential for good natured productive bees.

NEXT GEN PROBLEMS:

Any queen derived from an F1 will only be 50% buckfast and her offspring (daughters) will be 75% mongrel genes.

Colours:
F0 and F1 bees will be Tan/ Tawny colour
F2 bees will be very black

So avoid F2 bees.
I know this all depends on drones in the area and is just general assumption.

So.. I started with a nuc of 5 frames of bees, stated as an imported queen. I was totally new to bee keeping, but the bees came from a large reputable bee supplier in Oxfordshire. Unfortunately, it does seem many suppliers give very little info on the bees sold. I have since learnt the importance of knowing what you are getting. I have no idea what generation the queen would be, infact they didn’t even tell me what bees they were, but I know they only sell buckfast packages and buckfast and Italian queen bees only, that are imported.