BBKA Forum

British Beekeepers Association Official Forum 

• Brood observation window

• General Q&A, Bee chat and only Bee chat please
General Q&A, Bee chat and only Bee chat please
 #5404  by Neilkristopher
 08 Jan 2020, 18:31
Hi everyone. I’m completely new to beekeeping. In fact I haven’t started yet. I have an overwintered nuc reserved and I’m in the process of buying my first flat packed hive so I can start building it in time for April. I was just wondering if anyone has an observation window in their brood box? Thornes do a panel that can replace a brood box panel. It’s Perspex but you can essentially ‘close’ the window using the wooden block when not observing so it doesn’t get cold or let too much light in. I’ve read a few posts saying the bees may propolis it but some saying they don’t. Just thought it would be nice to take an easy peek inside, especially during the winter months when we can’t open it up. Any thoughts would be appreciated! Neil.
 #5406  by NigelP
 08 Jan 2020, 19:27
You would need to be sure your frames ran at 90 degrees to your window so you could see along all of the frames. Far better to go for a perspex crown board that you can pop insulation over during the winter months (bees like to be warm) but also remove for a quick peek down onto your bees.
 #5407  by AndrewLD
 08 Jan 2020, 22:10
The idea of having observation windows in brood boxes goes back to at least the beginning of the last century and H Storch (At the Hive Entrance) devotes a chapter to them. Try googling hive observation windows and you can see endless variations. I rather like the idea and might buy the Thorne option of just the window unit rather than a whole brood box so I can put one each side of a brood box. But I think glass is better than perspex because the bees may well build comb on it (see the photos on Google) and I think glass might take cleaning it off better.