BBKA Forum

British Beekeepers Association Official Forum 

• stings

• General Q&A, Bee chat and only Bee chat please
General Q&A, Bee chat and only Bee chat please
 #12954  by Alfred
 21 Jul 2022, 14:15
Having hosted only three last year I'm averaging that many per week just lately.
A few really good deep ones and directly to blood vessels too.
But it appears an immunity is developing as I don't get the long lasting reactions anymore 24 hrs and they're all gone
Previously there would be bruising as well as the swelling itching heat etc.
I'm not sure it's a good thing or bad.
 #12955  by NigelP
 21 Jul 2022, 16:12
I think it's a good thing Alfred. I used swell etc but now the most painful aspect is the sting itself, and occasional reaction at site lasting less than an hour.
 #12956  by MickBBKA
 22 Jul 2022, 01:09
I used to get quite bad reactions on my fingers and it was a problem as I was a mechanic. So I decided to stop using gloves. That may sound counterintuitive but it made me more careful and more sensitive to bees on my fingers and massively reduced the number of times I got stung. Over time the reactions reduced to just a local burn rather than the big swollen finger joints. Being very selective about colony traits has made a big difference also. I have only been stung twice this year from my bees and it was because they got caught in clothing both times.
It is also worth considering that anaphylactic reactions can occur at anytime in a beekeepers so even if you have a reduced reaction that can change at any point in the future. I keep what 3 words app on my mobile as I am usually alone and in remote places just in case. ;)
 #12959  by JoJo36
 22 Jul 2022, 07:18
I find that if I use 'after bite' which smells like bleach quickly after being stung, it works really well! It stops the itching and reduces the swelling I find! I also take a swig of piriton syrup or its equivalent and it seems to quell the symptoms!