BBKA Forum

British Beekeepers Association Official Forum 

• Possible Queenless Hive

• Beginners forum, ask beekeeping related questions and get help from other experienced beekeepers. Please use the Search Feature please to avoid duplicated threads
Beginners forum, ask beekeeping related questions and get help from other experienced beekeepers. Please use the Search Feature please to avoid duplicated threads
 #7274  by gwt_uk
 21 May 2020, 21:44
Hello all - I am in my second year of beekeeping and currently have 3 colonies.
2 of the colonies are doing well but the third may have run into trouble. I was late in inspecting due to the lockdown.

The problem hive is on a double brood - The top box is jam packed full of honey and pollen and the bottom box is completely empty although it looks as though all the cells have been polished. There are no eggs, no larvae and no brood of any kind. it has a very strong population (much larger than my other colonies) and they were a bit defensive when I inspected.

I have taken a frame of eggs, larvae and capped brood from another colony and will see if they produce queen cells. I am thinking the Queen may have died.

An experienced beekeeper has suggested inspecting after 7 days but I may not be able to get over there for a fortnight.

I had a problem last year with laying workers so know what to look for from that perspective.

Does anyone else have any suggestions/ideas about a course of action?

Thanks in advance for your help.
 #7277  by stechad
 21 May 2020, 22:16
Hi,
It will be around 7 days for a queen cell to be capped then another six days before the queen emerges, about 5 days , weather dependant before she goes on mating flights. so I wouldn't worry too much about leaving them for 2 weeks.
Be aware that you should definitely leave them alone for at least 7 days as the queen is very sensitive to being moved around just after being capped.
Good luck
Steve
 #7281  by Patrick
 21 May 2020, 22:52