BBKA Forum

British Beekeepers Association Official Forum 

• Honey - How Much Faffing

• General Q&A, Bee chat and only Bee chat please
General Q&A, Bee chat and only Bee chat please
 #10036  by MarkR
 19 Feb 2021, 16:11
Hi All,

I am a small scale hobbyist beekeeper, selling a few hundred jars a year.
Last week, I had an order for a couple of dozen jars. My remaining stock is sat in a cold room and the honey looks a bit cloudy (nothing too bad). Do I bung them in the oven (low heat) for a couple of hours to clear them? I know they will be going to a cold shop where they may well set anyway.

So I put them in the oven and they come out nice and clear....except some now have a film or "foam" layer on the top. Again, nothing too bad - but should I spend yet more time clearing off the film?

Is it worth doing the extra faffing? I've seen some jars for sale in shops that look awful.
 #10037  by Steve 1972
 19 Feb 2021, 17:41
There is a bit of a Taboo where heating honey is concerned but here is what i do when in the same situation as you..and it works well for me..
In previous years i used to put the jars in the honey warming cabinet and set the thermostat at 62 'C for 1hr this made it crystal clear however i still got the odd stubborn one that needed another 30 min's..i have recently been told by a knowledgeable forum member to warm the clouded honey to 50/52 'C for 24Hr's which i have done and all the jars in the warming cabinet came out perfect..
Regarding the layer of scum i would have to remove it not that i have had it happen..i know it is a faff on but if you lay a bit of cling film on the surface of the honey and gently peel it of all or most of the floating scum is removed and will look much more presentable..
Last edited by Steve 1972 on 19 Feb 2021, 18:35, edited 1 time in total.
 #10040  by NigelP
 19 Feb 2021, 18:24
My thoughts are simply it's your honey and hence your reputation.