BBKA Forum

British Beekeepers Association Official Forum 

• Double brood

• General Q&A, Bee chat and only Bee chat please
General Q&A, Bee chat and only Bee chat please
 #9163  by Barney
 12 Oct 2020, 09:33
Hi everyone...
I was wondering if anyone left there double brood with super stores?or if you took them all knowing they had enough stores?
Also,for the winter, has anyone got any tips for over wintering,crown board on/off,empty box on top?
I am kind of new to it
Thankyou
 #9165  by nealh
 12 Oct 2020, 09:53
Most colonies will be fine on just one brood if it is heavy with stores, though a really strong colony with sveral frame sof brood would need more room for stores. Double brood and a super isn't necessary, one should have been checking on stores during September to see how well they were provisioned.
Crown board 100% on with no ventilation and a 40/50mm slab of celotex/Kingspan type insulation on top in an eke to keep the warmth in better, any empty space above will cause a cold spot and condensation so insulate.
 #9167  by Barney
 12 Oct 2020, 10:08
Thankyou
This is the first time I have taken honey off them, this is the 3rd summer with them and they have done really well,but it’s the first time I have had to work out what to do with the supers.
Thankyou,
I will remove them,but also will make sure they have enough stores,by weight.I should of checked this better in September,I won’t make the same mistake next year.
Thankyou
 #9168  by AndrewLD
 12 Oct 2020, 10:10
Sound advice but does the original poster mean just one super or more (?), on top or under (nadired)?
I would say, everything Neal said but also, have you hefted to see how heavy the double brood is? Do you know to take out the queen excluder so that the bees move up into the super(s) as a cluster? You have double brood but just as relevant is the size of the colony or you could give them too much space that loses heat.